Permit rules and dates

Permit test rules by state, side by side

Pick two states in the tool to compare them line by line, or read the full table below: six rules for every jurisdiction, each one read on the agency page.

Compare two states

Permit age

15½ · 15

Time on the permit6 months · 6 months
Supervised hours50 h · 30 h
Test questions46 · –
Restrictions end17 · 18
Work out my dates →

Learner permit rules differ more from one state to the next than most families expect. The minimum permit age runs from 14 years in Alaska to 16 years in Connecticut. The written knowledge test is between 18 questions (Pennsylvania) and 50 (Florida) where the agency states a length, and the pass mark ranges from 70 % to 85 %, with 14 states at exactly 80 %. Supervised practice before the road test goes from 20 hours in Iowa to 100 hours in Oregon. Permit fees run from $2.50 (South Carolina) to $80 (New York). The table covers 51 jurisdictions; a cell reads "not stated" when the official pages we read do not give the figure. Use the comparison tool above to set two states next to each other before a move, or to see how your own state ranks on each rule.

Questions and state rules by Radif Partners · Editorial policy · How the questions are written

Six permit rules for every state

Each row below brings together the figures a teen or an adult beginner asks about first. The permit age is the earliest birthday at which the learner permit can be issued. The questions and pass columns describe the written knowledge test; when a state publishes both the length and the number of correct answers, the pass column shows them as a fraction, otherwise as a percentage. The retake column gives the wait after a failed attempt. Hours are the supervised practice required before the road test for drivers under 18, and the fee is what the state charges for the permit itself.

Knowledge test and learner permit rules, 51 jurisdictions. Ages in years (½ = six months). Data read on October 22, 2026.
StatePermit ageQuestionsPassRetakeHoursPermit fee
Alabama15not statednot statednot stated50$36.25
Alaska14not statednot stated1 day40$15
Arizona15½not statednot statednot stated30$7
Arkansas14not statednot statednot statednot statednot stated
California15½4637/467 days50$46
Colorado15not statednot statednot stated50not stated
Connecticut162520/257 days40$19
Delaware16not statednot statednot stated50$50
District of Columbia16not statednot statedvaries40$20
Florida155040/50not stated50not stated
Georgia154030/401 day40$10
Hawaii15½30not statednot statednot stated$5
Idaho14½4034/403 days50$21.50
Illinois15not statednot statedvaries50$20
Indiana15not stated80 %1 day (business)50$9
Iowa14not statednot statednot stated20$6
Kansas14not statednot statednot stated50not stated
Kentucky15not statednot statedvaries60$15
Louisiana154032/40not stated50$32.25
Maine153024/30not stated70$35
Maryland15¾not statednot statednot stated60not stated
Massachusettsnot statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated
Michigannot statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated
Minnesota15not statednot statednot stated50$11.25
Mississippi15not statednot statednot stated50$7
Missouri15not statednot statednot stated40not stated
Montana14½not statednot statednot stated50$5
Nebraska15not statednot stated1 day50$13
Nevada15½2520/251 day50$22.50
New Hampshire15½4032/4010 days40not stated
New Jersey165040/50not stated50$10
New Mexico15not stated70 %not stated50$10
New York162014/20not stated50$80
North Carolina15not statednot stated7 days60$25.50
North Dakota14not statednot stated1 day50$15
Ohio15½4030/401 day50not stated
Oklahoma152015/20same daynot stated$42.50
Oregon153528/35same day100not stated
Pennsylvania161815/181 day (business)65$45.50
Rhode Islandnot statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated
South Carolina15not statednot statednot stated40$2.50
South Dakota14not statednot statednot stated50$38
Tennesseenot statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated
Texas15not stated70 %not stated30$16
Utah15not statednot statednot stated40$19
Vermont152016/201 day40$24
Virginia15½4034/4015 days45$3
Washington154032/40varies50$35
West Virginia152519/25not stated50$7.50
Wisconsin155040/50not stated50$35
Wyoming15not statednot stated3 days50$40

Where the states disagree the most

Age. The gap between the earliest and the latest permit age is a full 2 years. Rural states with long distances to school tend to start young; dense Northeastern states tend to wait until 16. A family that moves across a state line can find a teen suddenly too young, or old enough, for a permit.

Test length. Only 21 of the 51 jurisdictions state how many questions their knowledge test has on the pages we read. Among them the longest test has 50 questions, more than 2.8 times the shortest. The question count guide turns each length into the number of mistakes you can afford.

Pass mark. 23 states publish a percentage or a count we can turn into one, and 14 of them sit at 80 %. The outliers matter: in a state at 70 % you may miss more than one question in four, while at 85 % the margin shrinks to a handful.

Practice hours. 31 of the 44 states with a published hour count ask for 50 hours or more. Oregon asks for the most, 100 hours, while Iowa asks for 20. The hours guide shows how many hours a week that means over the holding period.

Fees. The permit fee alone ranges from $2.50 to $80, and several states charge separately for the test, the photo or the license that follows. The fee comparison adds the license to give the full public cost.

One framework, fifty sets of numbers

All states license teens in three steps (learner permit, intermediate license, full license), a model NHTSA promotes in its teen driving program. The framework is common; the dials are local. A state can lower the permit age but lengthen the holding period, or ask for few hours but a long course. That is why comparing one rule at a time can mislead: a state with a young permit age may still be among the last to grant an unrestricted license. The date calculator combines the three timing rules for a given birthday.

How the figures were collected

Each value was read on the state agency website or in its driver handbook, and the page address is stored with the figure. We do not average, estimate or copy figures from commercial sites. Our dataset currently holds 1071 confirmed values and 378 empty ones; the empty cells are the honest result of agencies that leave a rule unstated, or state it only at the counter. If you see a rule that changed, the state page links to the source where you can confirm it. This site is an independent study aid, not a motor vehicle agency, and the official handbook always prevails.

Questions new drivers ask

Which state has the easiest permit test?

No state is easy in a meaningful sense, but the numbers differ. New Mexico has the lowest published pass mark, 70 %, and Pennsylvania the shortest published test, 18 questions. A shorter test leaves less room for error, so each wrong answer weighs more.

Can I get my permit in a different state than where I live?

No. A learner permit is issued by the state where you reside, and the agency asks for proof of residency at the counter. If you move, the new state decides whether your permit, test result or logged hours carry over. Compare the two states with the tool above, then check the new agency page before you book anything.

Why do some cells in the table say not stated?

Every figure comes from an official agency page or handbook, with its link kept in our data. When we could not find a figure in those documents, we leave it blank rather than copy it from a third-party site. Of the 51 jurisdictions listed, 30 do not publish a question count on the pages we read.

How often do these permit rules change?

Legislatures adjust graduated licensing every few years: an hour requirement goes up, a passenger rule tightens, a fee is raised with the state budget. Agencies update their handbooks on their own schedule, sometimes months later. The data on this page shows the date it was read, and each state page links to the official source for every number.

Keep practicing

Official handbooks and rules behind this page

Written by

Independent publisher of free permit practice tests and state-by-state learner permit rules for the United States

State rules checked on · Editorial policy · Contact

Permit rules for 2026 read on each state agency site 2026, last checked on