Practice tests

How many questions are on the permit test in each state

Choose a state: the tool gives the number of questions, the correct answers needed and the mistakes you can afford, when the agency publishes them.

Pass mark of your state's knowledge test

Correct answers needed

37 / 46

Questions46
Minimum score80 %
Mistakes allowed9
Retake after a fail7 days (minors)

The state publishes a percentage, not a number of answers: the count is derived from it.

Take the practice test →

The written permit test is short almost everywhere, but the exact count depends on the state. Of the 51 jurisdictions in our data, 21 publish the number of questions on their official pages: the shortest has 18 questions (Pennsylvania), the longest 50 (Florida), and the median is 40. 7 states use exactly 40 questions. What decides whether you pass is not the length but the margin: Florida lets you miss 10, Pennsylvania only 3. 27 jurisdictions publish neither a count nor a pass mark, so the test length there is only known at the counter. The tool above converts a state's rule into answers, and our full practice test uses the same arithmetic to score you. Knowing that number before the appointment tells you exactly how much room you have for a doubtful guess or a misread question.

Questions and state rules by Radif Partners · Editorial policy · How the questions are written

Question counts and pass lines in each state

The table lists every jurisdiction whose agency publishes at least a test length or a pass mark, longest test first. "Correct needed" is the count the agency gives, or, when it only gives a percentage, the smallest whole number of answers that reaches it. "Mistakes allowed" is the difference.

Written knowledge test for a first car permit. 24 jurisdictions with a published figure.
StateQuestionsCorrect neededMistakes allowedPass mark
Florida50401080 %
New Jersey50401080 %
Wisconsin50401080 %
California4637980 %
Georgia40301075 %
Idaho4034685 %
Louisiana4032880 %
New Hampshire4032880 %
Ohio40301075 %
Virginia4034680 %
Washington4032880 %
Oregon3528780 %
Hawaii30not statednot statednot stated
Maine3024680 %
Connecticut2520580 %
Nevada2520580 %
West Virginia2519676 %
New York2014670 %
Oklahoma2015575 %
Vermont2016480 %
Pennsylvania1815383 %
Indiananot statednot statednot stated80 %
New Mexiconot statednot statednot stated70 %
Texasnot statednot statednot stated70 %

No count or pass mark appears on the official pages we read for Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, District of Columbia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Wyoming. Those states may still set a fixed length; it simply is not written where an applicant can find it before the visit.

From a percentage to a number of answers

Agencies phrase the rule in two ways. Some say "answer 30 of 40 correctly", which is unambiguous. Others say "score 80 %", which needs a length to mean anything. When we know both the length and the percentage, the count needed is the percentage times the length, rounded up: 80 % of 25 is exactly 20, but 76 % of 25 is 19, and 75 % of 46 would be 34.5, so 35. California publish only the percentage alongside the length, so their count in the table is derived that way. Rounding always goes up, because a score just under the line is a fail.

The longest and the shortest tests

Florida has the longest published test, 50 questions, and you need 40 of them. At the other end, Pennsylvania asks 18 questions and expects 15 right. The median published length is 40 questions. A longer test has one real advantage: a single topic you know badly costs a smaller share of your score. A shorter test is faster, but the margin can come down to three or four slips.

The mistake budget is what to remember. In Florida you can miss 10 and still pass; in Pennsylvania, only 3. Before the appointment, run a full practice test and count your wrong answers against that budget, not against a percentage.

What the questions cover

The knowledge test draws from the state driver handbook: traffic signs, signals and pavement markings, right of way, speed limits, lane use, parking, alcohol and drugs, and sharing the road. Our practice bank holds 80 car questions written from those chapters and from the federal sign manual; the full test picks the length of the state you select and applies its pass line. Topic shares in the real test are not published, so the bank is weighted toward rules and safe driving, which every handbook stresses.

Adults, teens and online tests

The length in the table is the one the agency gives for a first car permit. Some states give adults a shorter version, and several run an online test for teens at home with a different number of attempts. A count can also change quietly when an agency renews its question bank, so look at the date on the official page if you read it months before your visit. When the agency page and a printed handbook disagree, the more recent of the two is usually right, and the clerk has the final word.

Motorcycle and commercial tests have their own counts

A motorcycle knowledge test and the commercial general knowledge test are separate exams with their own length and pass line. The motorcycle permit guide lists the states that publish a count for the motorcycle test, and the CDL practice test explains the federal 80 % rule for commercial tests. If you fail any of them, the retake guide gives the wait in each state.

Questions new drivers ask

Does every applicant get the same number of questions?

Not always. Some agencies give a shorter test to adults than to teens, or draw a different number from a bank depending on the license class. California's DMV research put the minor's test at 46 questions, with fewer for adults. When a state publishes one figure, it is the one we show; the state page notes any split the official text mentions.

Is a 20-question test easier than a 50-question test?

Usually not. A short test leaves fewer mistakes: with 20 questions at 80 % you may miss 4, while 50 questions at the same mark allow 10. One unlucky topic weighs more in a short test. 4 states in our data use 20 questions or fewer, so practice until you are well above the line.

Does the test stop once I have enough correct answers?

In several states the computer ends the test as soon as you reach the pass count, or as soon as you have missed one too many. That is why some applicants finish after only part of the questions. Agencies describe this on their pages when they use it; our practice test keeps going to the end but turns its score panel red the moment you pass the mistake limit.

Are road sign questions counted separately?

A few states set a minimum for sign questions inside the test, so a good overall score is not enough if you miss too many signs. Where an agency describes such a split, the state page reports it. Drilling the sign section on its own, with the signs-only test, is the safest way to cover that risk.

Keep practicing

Official handbooks and rules behind this page

Written by

Independent publisher of free permit practice tests and state-by-state learner permit rules for the United States

State rules checked on · Editorial policy · Contact

Permit rules for 2026 read on each state agency site 2026, last checked on