Permit rules and dates

Permit and license fees in every state

Pick a state: the tool adds the learner permit fee and the first license fee. The table below ranks every state that publishes both, from the lowest total to the highest.

What the state charges for the permit and license

Permit + first license

$46

Learner permit$46
LicenseIncluded

One application fee covers the permit and the first license, and three knowledge test attempts within 12 months.

Work out my dates and cost →

What a state charges to get a new driver from permit to license varies widely. Among the 37 jurisdictions in our data that publish both the learner permit fee and the first license fee, the combined public cost goes from $10 in Montana to $146 in Washington, with a median of $45. The permit alone costs between $2.50 and $80. In 10 states the two fees are equal, and in some a single application fee covers the permit, the tests and the first license. These are the agency charges only: they leave out driver education, a driving school, insurance and the cost of a car for the road test. Some states add separate charges for each knowledge test attempt, a photo or a county fee, which the agency notes below the table spell out.

Questions and state rules by Radif Partners · Editorial policy · How the questions are written

Fees state by state, lowest total first

The permit fee is what the agency charges to issue the learner permit; the license fee is the charge for the first driver license, usually the provisional one for a teen. The total adds the two. When only one of the two is published, the total is marked as partial and should be read as a floor, not a full cost.

State agency fees, 37 states with both fees published. Amounts in US dollars.
StateLearner permitFirst licenseTotal
Missourinot stated$5$5 (partial)
Iowa$6not stated$6 (partial)
Montana$5$5$10
New Hampshirenot stated$10$10 (partial)
West Virginia$7.50$5$12.50
Georgia$10$10$20
Illinois$20$0$20
Hawaii$5$20$25
Minnesota$11.25$14.25$25.50
Indiana$9$17.50$26.50
South Carolina$2.50$25$27.50
New Mexico$10$18$28
North Dakota$15$15$30
Mississippi$7$24$31
Arizona$7$25$32
Texas$16$16$32
New Jersey$10$24$34
Alaska$15$20$35
Virginia$3$32$35
Kentucky$15$21.50$36.50
Arkansasnot stated$40$40 (partial)
Nebraska$13$29$42
Nevada$22.50$22.50$45
Pennsylvania$45.50$0$45.50
California$46$0$46
Floridanot stated$48$48 (partial)
Delaware$50$0$50
North Carolina$25.50$25.50$51
Idaho$21.50$30$51.50
Utah$19$39$58
Vermont$24$39$63
Wisconsin$35$28$63
Louisiana$32.25$32.25$64.50
Maine$35$30$65
District of Columbia$20$47$67
Wyoming$40$30$70
Alabama$36.25$36.25$72.50
South Dakota$38$38$76
New York$80$0$80
Oklahoma$42.50$42.50$85
Connecticut$19$84$103
Washington$35$111$146

Neither fee appears on the pages we read for Colorado, Kansas, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee.

What the agencies add

Base fees rarely tell the whole story. Here are the extra charges and conditions that agencies publish next to their fees, quoted from their pages:

  • Alabama. Plus $5 for each knowledge test attempt. The Stage II license also costs $36.25.
  • Alaska. Standard cards; a REAL ID card costs $35 for the permit and $40 for the license.
  • Arkansas. The learner license fee is prorated; each written exam costs $5.
  • California. One application fee covers the permit and the first license, and three knowledge test attempts within 12 months.
  • Connecticut. Plus a $40 testing fee covering the vision, knowledge and road tests.
  • Delaware. The $50 Class D license fee is paid when applying for the permit and includes it.
  • District of Columbia. Plus $10 for the knowledge test at a service center. The provisional license costs $20 and the full license $47.
  • Florida. Original Class E license fee set by statute; county tax collector offices may add a service fee.
  • Georgia. The permit fee is paid again for each testing attempt. The Class D license for teens costs $10.
  • Hawaii. Fees of the City and County of Honolulu, where licensing is run by the county: $5 permit plus $2 test.
  • Idaho. Plus $5 for the knowledge test. The teen license, valid 3 years, costs $30.
  • Illinois. The $20 instruction permit fee covers the first license when it is issued before the permit expires.
  • Indiana. Fee chart revised on 1 January 2026.
  • Iowa. Class C licenses cost $4 per year of validity.
  • Montana. Plus a 3 % administrative fee; the license fee is per year of validity.
  • Nebraska. Permit: $8 plus a $5 security fee. Provisional operator's permit: $20.
  • Nevada. Plus $25 for the first knowledge and skills test and $10 for each retest. Converting the permit costs $22.50.
  • New Hampshire. New Hampshire issues no learner's permit. The license costs $10 per year until age 21.
  • New Jersey. Plus $4 for the two red GDL decals. The basic license costs $24, or $35 with REAL ID.
  • New Mexico. The first teen license is the provisional license, $18.
  • New York. One fee covers the permit and the first license; it depends on age at application and is higher in the New York City metropolitan area.
  • North Carolina. Level 1 permit $25.50, Level 2 provisional license $25.50.
  • North Dakota. Plus $5 for each knowledge test attempt and $5 for the road test.
  • Oklahoma. Each fee is $4 for the application plus $38.50 for the card.
  • Pennsylvania. One fee covers the learner's permit and the first 4-year license.
  • South Carolina. Fees set by the South Carolina Code of Laws, Title 56.
  • South Dakota. The permit costs the same as an original license, set by SDCL 32-12-16.
  • Texas. Texas DPS fee chart: $16 for the learner license and $16 for the provisional license, each a $15 state fee plus a $1 administrative fee.
  • Utah. Fees set by Utah Code 53-3-105.
  • Vermont. Plus $39 for each knowledge test attempt and $23 for the road test.
  • Virginia. The license costs $4 per year; $32 for 8 years.
  • Washington. The knowledge test fee is extra and varies by testing location.
  • West Virginia. The handbook's fee table charges it as a $7.50 knowledge test fee per attempt.
  • Wisconsin. Skills test $15.
  • Wyoming. Plus a $5 technology fee on every license.

Reading the gap between states

The most expensive state in our data costs 14.6 times the cheapest for the same two documents. The gap does not reflect the quality of the service; it reflects how each state funds its agency. Some keep fees low and pay for licensing from the general budget, others charge close to cost. A long license term also raises the fee: a state that issues licenses for eight years will charge more at once than one that issues them for four, while costing less per year.

Costs that are not fees

The table covers public charges only. Families also budget for driver education in states that require it (see the driver education guide), for the time of a supervising adult during the practice hours, and for adding a teen to car insurance, often the largest cost of all. A failed knowledge test can also cost a retest fee; the retake guide gives the wait in each state. We do not list or recommend any school or insurer.

Where the figures come from

Each fee was read on the agency fee page or in the driver handbook, and the link is stored with it. Fees change with state budgets, often on July 1 or January 1, so confirm the amount on the official page shortly before your visit. This site is independent and does not collect any fee.

Questions new drivers ask

Is the knowledge test included in the permit fee?

Sometimes. In some states the application fee covers the knowledge test, the vision check and one or more road test attempts; in others each test is a separate charge, often a few dollars per attempt. The agency fee page states which. The notes under the table quote what each state adds to its base fees when the agency publishes it.

Why does the license cost more than the permit in some states?

A license is valid for years, often four to eight, while a permit lasts months. The license fee covers that longer term. The highest license fee in our data is $111, in Washington. Where the first license is issued for a short term to a teen, some states charge a reduced fee and the full fee at renewal.

How can I pay the DMV fee?

Most agencies accept cards, checks and money orders at the counter, and cards online; some offices take cash, others do not. Card payments may carry a convenience fee set by the payment processor. Check the payment methods of your office before the visit, especially if a minor is paying alone.

Are there fee waivers for low-income applicants?

A few states waive or reduce fees for some groups, such as youth in foster care, homeless applicants, veterans or seniors for an ID card. Waivers for a first driver license are rarer than for an ID card. If you think you qualify, ask the agency before paying, because refunds after the fact are uncommon.

Keep practicing

Official handbooks and rules behind this page

Written by

Independent publisher of free permit practice tests and state-by-state learner permit rules for the United States

State rules checked on · Editorial policy · Contact

Permit rules for 2026 read on each state agency site 2026, last checked on